Who is Erasmus?
The Programme is named after the Dutch philosopher Desiderius Erasmus of Rotterdam, known as an opponent of dogmatism, who lived and worked in many places in Europe to expand his knowledge and gain new insights, and who left his fortune to the University of Basel in Switzerland. It was later given the backronym European Region Action Scheme for the Mobility of University StudentsErasmus preferred to live the life of an independent scholar and made a conscious effort to avoid any actions or formal ties that might inhibit his freedom of intellect and literary expression. Throughout his life, he was offered many positions of honor and profit throughout the academic world but declined them all, preferring the uncertain but sufficient rewards of independent literary activity.  

What Is Erasmus? 
The Erasmus Program was established by the European Union to enhance the quality and reinforce the European dimension of higher education by encouraging transnational cooperation between universities. The Erasmus Program, in particular, is designed to foster student and teaching staff mobility in Europe. 
Erasmus is one of the major branches of the EU- Lifelong Learning Program (LLP) that covers undergraduate and graduate studies in universities. It would be explanatory to quote from the key objectives of the LLP Program, determined by the LLP Bureau in Brussels:

  • To achieve a significant increase in student and staff mobility between European Higher Education Institutions,
  • To promote broad and lasting inter-institutional co-operation,
  • To contribute to the concept of a people's Europe,
  • To contribute to the economic and social development of Europe through the creation of a significant number of higher education graduates with direct experience of intra- European cooperation.

Participating Countries 
Adopted on 14 December 2006 and spanning the period until the end of 2013, LLP and its Erasmus action are now open to the participation of 33 countries:

  • The 27 Member States of the European Union
  • The 3 European Economic Area countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway)
  • Crotia, Macedonia, Turkey

Visit the official website of the Erasmus Program for more information.​